TRIPLE POSITIVE GROUP

Comments

• chachamom
    chachamom Member Posts: 410

Toni: your logic seems reasonable to me....but I'm still new at this. I DO think it would be worthwhile to discuss this with your MO.......and as Lago said consider the variant risk/benefits of using an aromatase drug instead of Tamox. What I get out of the article Dance gave (thanks, Dance!) is that a lower dose MAY be just effective as the higher dose, but without further clinical studies, there does not warrant the practice of giving a reduced dose in actual practice. I know that there are women who stop taking ANY hormone therapy based on negative SE's....perhaps there could be a future study with women who are unwilling to take a full dose, but are willing to try a lesser dose?

• chachamom

On another subject...when my MO went over my Oncotype report, we talked about the score and predicted risk/benefit of chemo.....but what we didn't discuss....and I just read in my written reort that was mailed to me....is that in the Oncotype I was rated as HER2-!

Does anyone know which test, the FISH or the Oncotype takes precident?... I'm afraid get too excited...but I went from "equivocal" pre-FISH, to positive in the FISH (4.42), to NEGATIVE on the Oncotype (10.4 score with 10 .7 being the cut off before equivocal and >11.5 before positive)

I can't believe my MO didn't discuss this! I've sent her an email asking about it....but OMG!!! Is the HER2+ measuring THAT variable?

• chachamom

YES kayb!! Muddy, muddy,muddy! I'm flying on a high thinking I may NOT be HER2+

My first MO refused to order an oncotype saying the HER2+ status took precedence over any oncotype.....but with my concerns about the HER2+ variable and his insistence of NO chemo/Herceptin based on the size (3mm), I sought a second opinion and that MO thought it reasonable to get an oncotype....not protocol but worth it.