Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.
Join us for a Special Meetup: The Benefits of Exercise for Anyone With Breast Cancer, Oct. 16, 2024 at 2pm ET. Learn more and register here.

All about Xeloda

Comments

• Aussiemumof2
    Aussiemumof2 Member Posts: 13
    edited January 2015

Thankyou leftfootforward, for tips on Xeloda. I have only just started on it and any information on caring for myself, especially HFS is greatly appreciated. My onc makes it sound relatively easy to take compared to Iv chemo, and thinks I should manage ok, but he makes lots of thing s sound ok till you try them.

Has anyone tried nutritional supplements that are supportive and help with SE for HFS

• mscal02
    mscal02 Member Posts: 167
    edited January 2015

Hi All : This is my week off of my 4th cycle. After 1 month of Xeloda my tumor marker has gone down from 438 to 359. The palms of my hands looks like I'm a car mechanic. My feet hasn't bothered me yet .Nausea has been slight. I eat fresh pineapple and I take probiotic enzyme tablets with every meal. I keep my feet lotioned when I think about it, once or twice a week. Looks like Xeloda is working for now.

• gciriani
    gciriani Member Posts: 195
    edited January 2015

Mscal02,

Glad it's working. My suggestion is to start doing something more proactive for your hands, because strong HFS may be ground for Xeloda (capecitabine) being discontinued, and especially since it's working for you, you don't want that to happen.

• mscal02
    edited January 2015

Thanks gcriani: 'I've been keeping them lotioned.  

• kt1966
    kt1966 Member Posts: 1,021
    edited January 2015

My tumour markers have been climbing the last few times so I'm having a bone scan on Monday to see if anything is getting worse.