Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.
Join us for a Special Meetup: The Benefits of Exercise for Anyone With Breast Cancer, Oct. 16, 2024 at 2pm ET. Learn more and register here.

All about Xeloda

Comments

• gail5
    gail5 Member Posts: 125
    edited November 2012

Chickadee - I'm the opposite, can't get my nose to stop running sometimes.

Chemo unit phoned and blood counts are Ok so good to go tomorrow. Expect I'll still have a ridiculous wait for the pharmacy to supply tablets but at least I don't have to repeat blood tests and wait an hour for the results.

• gma12
    gma12 Member Posts: 3
    edited November 2012

I am new to chat rooms.  I was just wondering if anyone has had mouth sore problems with xeloda.  I already have chemo induced neuropothy from my chemo treatments two years ago so I am not too worried about the effects of xeloda on my hands and feet becuase I may not even be able to tell the difference.  The idea of mouth sores scares me.  I am on 2 weeks on 1 week off and I just finished my first week.

• Chickadee
    Chickadee Member Posts: 469
    edited November 2012

No mouth sores here. Hands and feet are more typical. Dry skin and cuticles.

• gma12
    edited November 2012

I am on 2500 mg a day. Reading some of the other posts that seems high. What is the average?

• LizLemon
    LizLemon Member Posts: 191
    edited November 2012

Hi, gma12 -

I don't know what average is, I've seen it all over the board, on these boards. My doc started me on 1000 mg. 2ce a day. I will finish my first cycle (2nd week) tomorrow. I see the onc again in 3 weeks, so not sure if he will adjust or leave it alone...

LL

• gma12
    edited November 2012

I take 3 pills in the morning and 2 at night.  How do they know if these are helping? Sorry for the stupid questions but as I sai I am new at this.

• Chickadee
    edited November 2012