Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

For Arimidex (Anastrozole) users, new, past, and ongoing

Comments

• nancyjac
    nancyjac Member Posts: 59

I don't take a separate D3 supplement, but between my multi-vitamin and my calcium supplement I get 1300 IU vit D.  I also walk for an hour most every day with half of that being outdoor walking, so I get both the benifit of weight bearing exercise plus the extra vit. D from being outside.

• nanna
    nanna Member Posts: 138

Is arimidex as good as femara at keeping down the return of cancer?

• ruthbru
    ruthbru Member Posts: 46,830

Yes.

• 2FriedEggs
    2FriedEggs Member Posts: 324

Hi everyone, I'm new to this post (glad it was started-thanks!)

Ruthbru you are definitely an inspiration when it comes to this arimidex. Thank you for sharing your success with long term Arimidex us.

I started my Arimidex a couple months ago. I usually have issues with starting new meds and was really apprehensive. My MO told me that the most common immediate side effects he hears is headache and some achiness. He advised me to do a slow start of my arimidex-one every 3 days for a week then one every other day for a week then everyday. He said doing  it that way gives your body a chance to accept the new medicine. I ask my ddl who has a doctorate in pharmacy if that made sense and she said yes alot of doctors introduce long term meds that way now. I felt much better mentally not diving into it every night of the week with the slow start. Fortunately I had no problems with it so far. So if you are sitting there staring at your new AL but are afraid to start it, maybe a slow start will get you going.

Have any of you been told that any foods counteract the ALs? Pretty much the only thing I have seen so far is soy products.

• deborye
    deborye Member Posts: 2,441