Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Who else is a Genealogy Nut??

Options
cmbear
cmbear Member Posts: 674

I have been doing my family history for a few years now and I KNOW I am not the only one on here that dabbles in genealogy. Lets share our stories, our research queries and maybe along the way we can help each other with research. Or maybe we'll find out we are related!! My family roots go from Nebraska back to Scotland, Ireland, Luxembourg and France. What's yours?

Comments

• curveball
    curveball Member Posts: 1,583
    edited September 2012
    Options

I enjoy genealogy too, and have family roots in Barbados, Black American (pre-Civil War free persons of color on one side, probably born in slavery on the other) and one great grandmother from Devonshire in England. I would like to do DNA testing to find out what part of Africa my ancestors came from.

• mdg
    mdg Member Posts: 1,468
    edited September 2012
    Options

I am into it too!  I am 100% Italian.  I have traced back my family to the 1700's and have visited the town they were from (on my mom's side).  Dad's side has been harder to do.....don't have many generations traced back for his side. 

• Blessings2011
    Blessings2011 Member Posts: 1,801
    edited September 2012
    Options

Oh, I wish.......

Most of my Genealogy research is packed away in boxes, and every day I think I should dig it out and complete it while elderly relatives are still living and can tell me stories.

I got back to the 1700s on my dad's side, and the 1500s on my mom's side.

Last month I did the DNA testing with Ancestry.com. Interestingly, I found that I was 80% Scandinavian (modern day Norway, Sweden, Denmark) but also from earlier people who migrated across Europe.

I am also 14% Southern European (modern day Italy, Spain, Portugal), but again, the information goes back to ancient times, describing how different bands of people migrated across the world.