Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

lumpectomy vs mastectomy - why did you choose your route?

Options

Comments

• CoolPandaBear
    CoolPandaBear Member Posts: 1
    edited January 2019
    Options

Hi Bessie,I am new to this. Just had a lumpectomy with breast reduction/lift and now facing doc’s recommendation of a total MX of my breast because my biopsy came back margins positive. My breasts are super precious to me and I’m still young. I’m facing a very difficult decision. Thank you for this informative post! BTW, I’m pure DCIS stage 0.

• ShesAFighter76
    ShesAFighter76 Member Posts: 1
    edited February 2019
    Options

Sorry you find yourself in this predicament.

I am 42 yo, found my lump myself. Had pain. inverted nipple, itching...all.the signs. Went in Sept '19 for mammo, then biopsy, Oct '18 had lumpectomy left side. 6 cm, grade 2. Left very deformed, huge portion taken. Found out after the margins were not clean. 😞

SO I could go back in for another surgery to take more, have radiation & surgery on right to balance.

I decided on bilateral mastectomies. Why?

▪ I did not want to worry about right side

▪ I was going to have to undergo surgery on right anyway to try to provide some symmetry

▪ I did not want to EVER go thru another extremely painful biopsy or constant mammograms on right (anxiety of results, etc)

Turns out, after mastectomy the right side had a "large amount" of DCIS that had gome undetected, so I am so glad i opted for both.

I am still healing...my body does not do well with surgery. At all. I still have 2 of 4 surgical drains 55 days out. (Not typical) I have seroma on my left side, got an infection & had to go back in for surgery in Jan '19.