How are people with liver mets doing?

Comments

• chicagoan
    chicagoan Member Posts: 1,030
    edited April 2018

KC-So happy for you. With this and the Opdivo, it's time for things to turn around.

• zarovka
    zarovka Member Posts: 2,959
    edited April 2018

Wendy - My MRI showed ascites. I don't have any plans to swap out my liver. It does mean liver function is impaired. You and I have to beat back these mets. In the meantime there are some ways to reduce the bloating. Start with reducing salt. Maybe a diuretic herbal tea like hibiscus? Not the expert here on diuretics and ascites. Curious whether people with more experience think mild diuretics help. Sipping my hibiscus tea at the moment in my usual n=1 experimental mode.

I am getting significant reduction in ascites symptoms and bloating from a regular, short, supported yoga routine of backbends, inversions and twists. I've been practicing and teaching yoga for 30 years so I instinctively know what to do, but with a little guidance anyone can do these. These some of the easier poses.

Hang in there.

KC - you hit the ball out of the park as expected. you got this.

>Z<

• Almosthere
    Almosthere Member Posts: 177
    edited April 2018

z don’t discredit your treatment (chemo and diet) for decreasing your ascites symptoms! I start “mindfulness and cancer” therapy for the next 9 weeks! Yoga is very helpful too!

• Wendy3
    Wendy3 Member Posts: 872
    edited April 2018

K I’m sorry to hear that you are dealing with this also we need to get our livers strong you are right. So I’m going full on hippy with this one. Carrot juice lots of it, no salt , no more sneaky beers, no more sugar ( though that wasn’t very much anyway).garlic juice three times a day. Also going to get me some bitter melon and drink the juice I make from that as well. Fenugreek seeds soaked over night and first thing you drink in the day. I will loose a ton of weight I fear but it will be so worth it. I’ll keep you posted❤️.