Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

How are people with liver mets doing?

Options

Comments

• vlnrph
    vlnrph Member Posts: 490
    Options

Saulius is reading my mind! I had to stop the KEYTRUDA trial at UW-Madison in late July because my elevated liver enzymes wouldn’t respond to high dose IV steroids. Before hospital discharge, my oncologist wanted me to get my 1st doses of Taxol (paclitaxel)+Gemzar=gemcibitane. As a retired pharmacist, I had heard about these meds but considered them “old school”.

My port was already in so we did it. Unfortunately, 2 days later I had the worst weekend of my life. I scoured these boards but could not find recent information on this chemo doublet which has been around for decades. The fatigue was crippling. Apparently it was thought the dexamethasone I was given might bridge the gap coming down from methylprednisolone.

Instead, it was more like falling off a cliff. I became weak & dehydrated. An ER visit for labs/fluids, in addition to going on a proper prednisone taper, reassured me that I could survive. Then the mouth sores began. I’m thinking of starting a new topic here regarding older treatments and how people are managing. There must be a few of us out there.

• jsniffs
    jsniffs Member Posts: 136
    Options

@rk2020 - Thanks for your update on Enhertu!! I hope you are starting to feel better. I know you had a rough initial go. It looks like I'll be switching to Enhertu soon. I did two cycles of Trodelvy, and it seemed to keep some things stable (mostly the trip neg lesions). However, it didn't seem to have any effect on my liver (ER+). It's a bummer because I thought Trodelvy was fairly manageable, although I like the schedule of Enhertu better.

@vlnrph - I'm also curious about the more "old school" chemo options. Sorry to hear about your experience!!

@weninwi - Hopefully you are able to obtain Elacestrant soon!

• husband11
    husband11 Member Posts: 1,287
    Options