Ibrance (Palbociclib)

Comments

• Blume
    Blume Member Posts: 59
    edited August 2017

welcome VonHilda sorry you need to be here but it is a great support network and source of information. I'm also British but living in Germany so Ibrance is easily available on prescription here. Hopefully the NHS/NICE will approve it soon. I have been on ibrance and letrozole for 17 days, so far side effects are some diarrhoea and nausea in the morning's. Oh and hot flashes are back again!

• ciaci
    ciaci Member Posts: 315
    edited August 2017

Praying for Dianarose, and her doctors - that they be guided to find relief for her pain, at the very least.

I'm a relative newbie (diagnosed April, started Ibrance Aug 1) but feel like I've known so many of you for a long time... I guess it's true -- the enemy of my enemy (cancer) is my friend!

I find myself falling into the trap of "Is this a side effect?" for every ache and pain. Last night I had sciatica, and asked my husband if that was from the Ibrance (he's a pharmacist). He started laughing and said, "You've had sciatica for fifteen years, so I doubt it. Is it worse than usual?" and I had to laugh because actually, it wasn't even as bad as an average attack. Then this morning, when I got up, my knees ached, and I remembered joint pain was a side effect. Again, husband reminded me I've had that for years (overweight, inactive, and age 55!). So far the only real difference is that my 4am sweats are back, and my naps on the couch start earlier in the evening!

• JoynerL
    JoynerL Member Posts: 1,392
    edited August 2017

Welcome, VonHilda, and good luck! You may find this regimen to be very tolerable once you have gotten a month under your belt and gotten the "lay of the land".

• nbnotes
    nbnotes Member Posts: 338
    edited August 2017

Micmel -- Thanks for letting us know about dianarose! I read here often but don't post much. I will be keeping you both and her doctors in my thoughts and prayers.

• lalady1