Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Ibrance (Palbociclib)

Comments

• Yellowtweety
    Yellowtweety Member Posts: 1
    edited October 2019

Hi Everyone. I'm new to this thread. My onc wants to put me on Femara/Ibrance. I'm so nervous about the side effects. What are the worse ones anyone has had?

• BevJen
    BevJen Member Posts: 2,341
    edited October 2019

Hi Yellowtweety,

I'm sure that others will weigh in -- I'm currently in cycle 4 of Ibrance/Faslodex, so not that long. I was on Femara by itself for 13 years. The side effects from that drug for me were aches and pains, tendonitis in both of my feet, joint pain and joint issues, some sleep issues.

Faslodex has been a much gentler drug for me. I've had literally no side effects from faslodex (maybe because for me it's been much better than femur). Because I started it over a month before Ibrance, I think I can isolate the Ibrance issues. For me, it's bad constipation with occasional diarrhea or loose stools (at weird times). I also have extreme nasal passage issues -- very dry at night, when I get up in the morning, all sorts of gunk comes out (sorry for being so graphic). Also, I get extremely tired, also not in a pattern, and not every day. I've also seen an increase in leg cramps, especially at night and especially if I've walked a lot during the day.

Hope that helps.

Bev

• movingsoccermom
    movingsoccermom Member Posts: 164
    edited October 2019

Hello all. VERY behind due to a recent move.

Regarding HER2- metastasis. Mine were only to central chest lymph nodes and lung. No bones anywhere--knock on wood! It remains a wonky progression to me, since I have no activity in the axillary which is where my initial tumor drained.

Massive battle with insurance since DH retired. It's been crushing. JUST got meds approved a few days before they needed ordered. What a stupid system.

Sending positive thoughts to everyone!

Medicating

• snooky1954
    snooky1954 Member Posts: 850