Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Covering your scars with tattoo work

Options
jwoo
jwoo Member Posts: 931
edited November 2022 in Recommend Your Resources

Hi everyone,

After some discussion with the mods and a few others, I am happy to start this thread!

This is a safe space to discuss covering your scars and such with tattoos, or other body modification techniques. (Flat or recon- all are welcome!) Those of us with a love for beautiful ink, that want something besides nipple tattoos on our chests now have a space here to post photos of the work we have done, and provide references for tattoo artists that do this work.

Tattooing scar tissue is really quite different than working on unscarred skin, and it takes an artist that has a lot of skill and patience to work on. I worked in the bodymod industry for a few years (only as a counter person, not as a skilled professional,) and have a lot of wonderful friends that still do, so I know a little about what it takes to navigate the skin.

Artists in this particular subset are asked to turn what can be ugly and painful skin into a work of art. We are also asking these professionals to work with our emotional scars, as they are all connected. Finding the right person to work with can be hard, as you want to find someone that is not only talented in the style you prefer, but that is also empathetic and well grounded.

So this is the place we can come together to help one another find the right artist, to encourage and support one another in our choices, and to share our successes!