Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

2018 DIEP Surgery

Options

Comments

• bella2013
    bella2013 Member Posts: 370
    edited January 2018
    Options

I am new to this discussion group. I am having bilateral mastectomy on February 22. I had a lumpectomy January 4 to remove a tumor from my left breast. My nodes were clear but there were two places in the margins that were not clear. My BS had to remove a lot of breast tissue because of the size of the tumor. My BS said there was not any breast tissue left where the margins were not clean. He could go back in and remove skin over half of my breast. At that point I surrendered to a mastectomy on the left side only. I was leaning towards an implant. I heard from unqualified people that the DEIP Flap was a painful and excruciating long surgery with a long recovery time.

Fortunately, when I met with my PS he sorted it all out for me. He had a patient in the office who was my age, similar BC stats. She was there for her final visit. She had the BMX with the DEIP Flap. She sat with me, shared her experience and showed me the end result. Oh my, it was a beautiful job. She had the tattooed 3D nipples. She looked amazing! She said she would make the same choice all over again.

I decided to go with bilateral mastectomy with the DEIP Flap. I am excited about coming to this decision. I am at peace with having both breasts removed.

I am encouraged because I keep looking for the person who regretted having this procedure. Even with the previous postings where there are complications, these courageous women seem to want to continue on to complete healing regardless of the obstacles they are facing.