Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Athletics,exercise and rehab after Masctectomy

Options
2»

Comments

• jvanstok
    jvanstok Member Posts: 1
    Options

I'm 33 years old, 5'1", 125 lbs and used to wear a 32C sized bra. I had triple negative breast cancer in my right breast and 1 right lymph node in my armpit. I did 8 sessions of chemo from December 2019 to March 2020 (A/C and then taxol), a double mastectomy in April with 3 lymph nodes removed on my right side and a tissue expander put into my left side, then did 25 treatments radiation over June and July.

I've been climbing for about 2 years now, around a V2/3 level bouldering 5.11 top roping and haven't had any issues returning to climbing after my double mastectomy or radiation, I've gotten back to the level and above of what I was before all of this began.

I did start slow with walking, and the physio movements at home before getting into beginner climbs. Worked on that until now I just feel a bit of strain through my armpit and side when I need to reach straight over my head, but it hasn't really stopped me in anyway. I also do a bit of yoga and weight lifting which has helped with range of motion and strength.

Next steps is to decide what type of reconstruction I want to do. My plastic surgeon is suggesting using my latissimus dorsi muscle for reconstruction, but have heard that is specifically might affect climbing and water paddling activities. So I'm just doing research to see if I can find anyone who has undergone that surgery and still climbs.

• dancemom
    dancemom Member Posts: 404
    Options

I'm glad I found this section!

Are there any other fitness/dance/movement/yoga/pilates etc teachers out there? How long before you could go back to work?