Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

What were your Pagets symptoms?

Options
Sunflower182
Sunflower182 Member Posts: 4

Hi everyone,

Just searching for advice- I’ve been worrying about Pagets for a few months but primary care doctor and OB does not seem to believe anything is wrong. It started last August when my left nipple was scabbing- it was yellow/whitish tinge and wouldn’t actively discharge but when I looked at my nipple it just looked like a little scab. I showed my PCP and she felt around my breasts and sent me to an US. I asked her about Pagets and she replied, “oh no it’s not that, you’d have noticeable skin changes” which I didn’t, just the peeling. I had checked my bras daily and never saw discharge-just the scab.

So I went to the us, results came back for no further testing and that was it. Followed up with my OB in October due to getting pregnant, and she did not seem concerned either. She said hormones can cause these changes and only to worry if it started bleeding or getting worse. Here to February and the scab is still there (after peeling it off in August) and it’s yellow. No noticeable skin changes other than itching from time to time but that’s in both breasts and I’m going to assume it’s from being pregnant. I’m worried sick because a) doctors might not take me seriously being I’m 27 yrs old and b) I have twins due in June and seriously hope there’s no underlying issues :(

So what were your symptoms? Should I be this worried

Comments

• MBPooch
    MBPooch Member Posts: 40
    Options

Sunflower182 - Your symptoms are very similar to mine. I had ongoing issues for about 6 months before my diagnosis in October of 2017, I was 45. There was never any itching, no bleeding, just a continuous cycle of peeling. The only other symptom I noticed was that my left nipple always seemed harder or more erect than the right. my Gyn referred me to a dermatologist just to be sure.