Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Say NO to hormonal therapy!!!

Options
2»

Comments

• Yogatyme
    Yogatyme Member Posts: 1,793
    Options

Just as everyone’s cancer is different, every decision about treatment is completely individual. It is hard for others to be accepting of our decisions, but we all have to do what we believe is best for us. Trying to move from judgement to acceptance is a journey of its own. I try to remember that while I might not make the same decision as someone else, it doesn’t make mine right and theirs wrong or vice versa. This BC has me practicing Loving Kindness meditation often and honestly it helps.

• VioletKali
    VioletKali Member Posts: 97
    Options

Artista- (and anyone who may benefit)

I spoke with my psychiatrist regarding the possibility of switching, my concerns, etc..I am ALSO a Nurse currently obtaining my Master's Degree, so I am exceedingly familiar with drugs. This is for some background.

The truth is that I am mentally stable, and have been for 20 years. I do not want to risk it. My mental health was not cared for as a child/teen, and I suffered for it. I began to use meds at age 17 when I was able to pay for my own health care.

I am all about QUALITY of life over QUANTITY. Give me ONE good year over 10 years of poor quality. Life is not worth living to *me* if I am not happy or unable to participate in my activities.

I realize that many want quantity and are willing to live with side effects. As a future NP I respect and honor that 1000%. I do not want that, I refuse to live with side effects. We all die, I want to live as well as possible. For myself this is without side effects.

Certainly a unique perspective, but I have to follow my gut.

• VioletKali
    VioletKali Member Posts: 97
    Options

Sarah536,

And also with you!