Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

2 months wait time for diagnostic mammogram

HH987
HH987 Member Posts: 15

hi I’m 33 from Canada. I have 2 kids breastfeeding about 4 years total and no BC history in my family. 2 weeks ago I went to see my family doctor for a regular smear test, he asked if I also want to do a physical test for breasts. I have never done that before so I agreed. Then he found at least 5 lumps in my breast! (2 in left and about 3 smaller lumps in right) He said it was likely Fibroadenoma, but a diagnostic mammogram will be scheduled. Then the hospital scheduled it on 15 Jan! I’m too scared to wait for such a long time and called my family doctor again. He said if I felt anything change in my breasts during waiting he could require a emergency mammogram but now he won’t.

The problem is even he draw a picture to show the location of lumps I still can’t find them! How can I know if they grow larger?i do have several lumps (bigger or smaller) but they almost symmetrical in both breasts and not in the position he showed me...i do feel pain both breasts before my period and go after. I’m freaking out cant stop google it. Also I asked my doctor friends in China about my symptoms.one told me it was rare chance to be cancer another one went directly to breasts department they all agreed it should be Fibroadenoma.

I touched my breasts about 20 times a day since then and keep thinking if they are BC it will spread my whole body in those 2 months. Does anyone could kindly help me to tell the difference feeling about lumps and tissues? Or please encourage me a little~ (Sorry for my poor English

Comments

• peggysmom
    peggysmom Member Posts: 30
    edited December 2020

That seems like an awfully long wait for a diagnostic work-up. Any palpable abnormality should be evaluated sooner than that. Maybe call and see if there is a cancellation or weekend appointment?

• beesie.is.out-of-office