Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Wife wont exercise or eat better. What can I do?

Options
2»

Comments

• MerCats11
    MerCats11 Member Posts: 2
    edited October 2021
    Options

As a psych nurse, I love helping people change their habits for the better. To that end, I found (and studies have proven) that Motivational Interviewing can really help. Just a few simple questions to get the other person thinking can lead to them making the change themselves. I tried it on my husband and he has quit smoking and drinking.(!!) When you do Motivational Interviewing, you help the person uncover their reasons for wanting to change. But let's be honest - we all feel conflicted about the changes we know we "should" make. With this technique, you kind of highlight, or bring to the forefront, their own reasons. You kind of plant seeds and patiently wait for the changes to appear. You can search for a free Motivational Interviewing training online. As far as healthy eating goes, both my husband and I changed our diets drastically (to mostly vegetarian) over the period of several years. We were motivated by watching all the really powerful documentaries about food on Netflix, Hulu, and YouTube. If your wife is open to watching them, they can be very potent motivators and they are entertaining as well. I cannot believe my husband gave up sausages, but he did! But note, we did not watch them with the express intention of becoming vegetarian. We just watched them for information, and the changes came about slowly. Good luck!

• salamandra
    salamandra Member Posts: 736
    edited October 2021
    Options

For you, your wife's cancer has motivated you to make changes. But for her, it hasn't. (Or at least, not yet). Maybe she wants it to or she wishes it did, but it has not.