Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Magnesium supposed to be wonderful for fighting cancer

kipani
kipani Member Posts: 13
edited January 2022 in Alternative Medicine

Can't post links but read magnesium is supposed to be wonderful for fighting cancer. Best in walnuts. Also if read ovary removal is better for certain types horomone receptor positive long term than Tamiflixin or however you spell it. Just type it in Google, comes up in a medical journal. CELL i think.

Comments

• minustwo
    minustwo Member Posts: 13,044
    edited January 2022

Kipani - Ovary removal or Tamox is NOT a treatment regime for HER2+ BC. Likely for hormone positive BC (ER/PR+) which is a totally different thing.

• kipani
    edited January 2022

I'm so sorry I'm still learning. I found this on this website. I thought HER2 was that. Thank you for correcting me.

premenopausal women, most of the estrogen in the body is made by the ovaries. Because estrogen makes hormone-receptor-positive breast cancers grow, reducing the amount of estrogen in the body or blocking its action can help shrink hormone-receptor-positive breast cancers and reduce the risk of hormone-receptor-positive breast cancers coming back (recurring).

In some cases, the ovaries (and usually the fallopian tubes) may be surgically removed to treat hormone-receptor-positive breast cancer or as a risk-reduction measure for women at very high risk of breast cancer. This is called prophylactic or protective ovary removal, or prophylactic oophorectomy. Removing the ovaries is one way to permanently stop the ovaries from producing estrogen. Medicines also can be used to temporarily stop the ovaries from making estrogen (called medical shutdown). Ovarian shutdown with medication or surgical removal is only for premenopausal women.

Prophylactic ovary removal