Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

BMI during fat graft

Options
kumphort
kumphort Member Posts: 10
edited April 2022 in Breast Reconstruction

sorry I am not familiar with all the technical terms yet but being offered a flap surgery with fat grafting following a mastectomy. The surgeon today was trying to tell me that I was not an ideal candidate because of my BMI 35. I told him that just means I have more fat to give. But he said that it’s a higher risk surgery longer thicker layers etc.

not sure if he is just being extra cautious or if this is commo

Comments

• mountainmia
    mountainmia Member Posts: 857
    Options

kumphort, I skimmed a couple of abstracts and see there can be problems for healing with higher BMI. Obviously I'm not a doctor! I guess the only recommendations I can give are to ask more questions, and consider getting a second opinion if you still feel like your questions aren't answered or if you think a different doctor might have better experience or skills to perform the surgery you want. Good luck.

• kumphort
    Options

@mountainmia. Thanks for always responding to my posts.

do you have links to the articles you looked at. does it mention specific bmi values?

• mountainmia
    mountainmia Member Posts: 857
    Options

No, the things I looked at were just abstracts, basically a long paragraph each with a summary of findings from the research. If you google "flap reconstruction BMI" or similar, you can probably find the same types of things.

• Kgeorge
    Kgeorge Member Posts: 1
    Options

My plastic surgeon required me to lose weight and reach a BMI below 35. I had a BMI of 38 on my first consultation. I’m at a 30 now almost a year later and planning to have my DIEP surgery in May.

• kumphort
    Options

@kgeorge.