Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

3D mammograms

Options
nelly3
nelly3 Member Posts: 8
edited April 2022 in Benign Breast Conditions

Hello,

I'm still learning to navigate breastcancer.org. I started getting 3D mammograms in 2016, thinking since they are more detailed, the mammogrms would be able to distinguish between benign and cancerous. Wrong. My last one led to a core needle ultra sound guided biopsy which was unlike my twelve other needle biopsies since age 35....I'm 73 now. Core needle is more involved. Good news that it was benign - another fibroadeonoma, same as all the others over 40 years.

However, I'm considering not getting 3D - seems as though it is a double edged sword - picks up everything but also leads to alot of anxiety and more biopsies.

Is there anyone else who is thinking the same about these 3D?

Thanks,

Nelly

Comments

• sarahmaude
    sarahmaude Member Posts: 336
    Options

Nelly,

I am personally very pro-3D mammogram. Until my last mammogram that found my cancer, the traditional 2D versions were pretty limited for me. I've got borderline very dense breast tissue, even 8 years post menopause, and the 2D mammograms just didn't see much for me, and I was subjected to call backs and false positives.

With the 3D version, it was correct in seeing the cancer in my left breast, and per the follow up testing (ultrasound and breast MRI) it correctly assessed my healthy right breast.

I will say that for certain breast features, no imaging is going to be able to 100% differentiate between a tumorous mass and a fibroadenoma. I agree that core needle biopsy isn't fun, but it's accurate, and in your case, the process worked. Something was seen, it was assessed, and now you know that the image caught on ultrasound and mammogram was benign.

So, for me, I will continue to encourage women to go for 3D mammograms. Even though it may see something benign, I'm more confident in that technology than the older 2D mammography.