Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

MBC and working

fighter00
fighter00 Member Posts: 20

Hello sisters

I’m new here and just diagnosed stageIV. Has anyone with this stage and still working?? I am a RN and single mother and I have to take care of my 11 years old daughter😭😭

Comments

• aprilgirl1
    aprilgirl1 Member Posts: 743

Fighter00, I'm sorry you are here :/ . I was dx stage IV in November of 2019 and I work full time . I am a real estate broker and am self employed . When I was dx my oncologist told me to see how I felt on the medication before making any "big changes " like quitting my job . I followed her advice and am happy to tell you that once I got used to the meds (ibrance and fulvestrant ) I feel pretty normal and am not too fatigued to work and enjoy life . I work a lot of hours and have kids, like you but my kids are older (now 24 and 26).

However, it's not the same for all of us . You might want to see if your employer offers any long term disability or other benefits where you can work less hours but not take a huge hit in income . If you work for a hospital or corp they may have someone in HR that can help you find out what options you might have .

Hang in there !

• doodler
    doodler Member Posts: 34

I was recently diagnosed at stage 4 and plan to work as long as I can. I have a desk job though. I've just started meds so I can't predict what the side effects will be, or how my symptoms might impact me. I'm 51.

I'm cutting back expenses right now though, in case circumstances put me in a situation of needing long term disability, or perhaps medical retirement, down the road. I figure that I might as well get into the retirement mindset in case it happens. I've been with the same employer for 25 years.

• cure-ious
    cure-ious Member Posts: 2,705
    edited January 24