Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

Calcifications in a milk duct

I just turned 40 on the 8th of June so I'm fairly new to the whole mammogram scene and the issues that can be found from those. About 4 years ago (age of 35), I did have some nipple discharge from one nipple that would only come out if I messed with it or forced it to come out. Well, I ended up freaking myself out over it and had a diagnostic mammogram and ultrasound done. At that time all they found was a prominent milk duct (aka dilated duct) with no other signs of cancer or issues. Now, my Dr wanted me to get my annual mammogram done but bc of the dilated milk duct issue she made it a diagnostic mammogram with an ultrasound bc she wanted to prevent me from having a "call back". During the mammogram the radiologist saw a small group of pleomorphic calcifications in the upper part of that same dilated duct. The couldn't see them in the ultrasound so he recommended a needle biopsy with the assistance of mammogram (I can't remember what that type of biopsy is called). I do have the biopsy scheduled for 07/01. I am a natural worrier and overthinker. Every worse case scenario has been going through my mind driving me nuts w/anxiety. What are my chances that this calcification is benign?

Comments

• exbrnxgrl
    exbrnxgrl Member Posts: 5,250

tawny,