Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

31 y/o - Waiting for biopsy on Friday morning

MNice
MNice Member Posts: 5
edited January 2022 in Waiting for Test Results

This is the most terrifying week of my life.

On Sunday night, I felt an ache in my right breast - between the top and my armpit. When I rubbed it, I felt two palpable lumps. I'm 31 without a direct history of breast cancer, but I jumped to action immediately.

Primary care appointment Monday morning, diagnostic mammogram and ultrasound on Tuesday morning. I do medical copywriting for a living, so I knew that I would almost certainly need a biopsy. But I wasn't prepared for the reality.

Radiologist tells me that he can't rule out cancer from the images. I'll need a biopsy of 3 of the masses. Fine. [My results are: BI-RADS 4

There is mild skin thickening and increased trabeculation in the upper outer quadrant in the area of the palpable abnormality. There are 3 circumscribed masses at the 10:00 position, mid to posterior depth. No suspicious microcalcifications.

Right breast ultrasound was performed:

1. Hypoechoic 0.7 x 0.7 x 0.9 cm mass with indistinct margins

2. 0.8 x 0.9 x 0.9 cm oval hypoechoic mass. Question small fatty hilum with blood flow.

3. Hypoechoic 0.5 x 0.4 x 0.4 cm mass with indistinct margins. This is approximately 1 cm superior to the 0.9 cm mass.

4. Mild skin thickening.

5. Right axillary lymph node measures 2.4 x 1.6 x 3.0 cm. This has focal cortical thickening and cortical bulge, asymmetric compared to the left axilla.

BI-RADS 4: Suspicious]

I feel terrified and numb. I'm alternating between crying, doom-researching, distracting myself with bad TV. My biopsy was originally scheduled for two weeks from now, so I feel grateful that I can get that done in a few days. The only person who knows is my spouse. We've been talking about everything. I'm not sure if I should tell anyone else in my life before I know for sure if it is cancer...