Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Severe health anxiety

bsmiz
bsmiz Member Posts: 19
edited April 2023 in Just Diagnosed

Ok had the worst night of sleep since this nightmare began at my 6 mo diagnostic mammo a few weeks ago. My background is that I suffer from intense health anxiety and have a long history of panic attacks. I do not medicate because I have an intense fear of medications. (was once given pain meds after a c section and had the worst panic attack of my life)I felt calmer during the day after getting the confirming call from my pathology report. But the minute would drift off I would wake up in a panic feeling like I couldn’t breath. With health anxiety my fears manifest in bodily symptoms so every ache and pain is making my head spin off to cancer everywhere in my body. The path report really seems to show a very small and slow growing cancer but anxiety trumps logic in the moment. Lack of sleep, lack of enough fuel because I’m having trouble eating… and I feel like shit today. Making my anxiety worse and it’s a vicious cycle. I’m mostly venting but if any of you are suffering from anxiety what is helping(besides medication)? Sorry for this long whiney post!!

Tagged:

Comments

• moderators
    moderators Posts: 7,815

HI @bsmiz,

We're so sorry to hear you're suffering with this anxiety. It must be terribly debilitating.

We're sure others will be by shortly to weigh in with their thoughts, experience and advice. We're all here for you!

To help, there are some good tips on this page on Anxiety, under Managing Anxiety:

As well, a helpful podcast on Taking Care of Your Mental Health After a Breast Cancer Diagnosis:

We hope this helps and that you can find relief soon. Big hugs!

—The Mods

• salamandra
    salamandra Member Posts: 732

Anxiety is a beast. Do you have a therapist? That can be very helpful.