Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

How Many Stage 4 Girls are getting SS disability..

Options

Comments

• kbl
    kbl Member Posts: 2,729
    edited June 2020
    Options

Thank you, vinrph. That would be nice if they would count back to my diagnosis, since that was on May 3, 2019. I am working four hours this month and am not sure whether I should wait to apply until July so I’m totally done. I am an S corporation and not paying myself a salary this month. I have been working steadily for 39 years just in this job, and working since I was 16.

• kbl
    edited June 2020
    Options

I applied Monday and did not end up working this month, so my last workday was May 22nd. I understand the process much better after reading all the posts. I won't be paid from my diagnosis date because I made too much per month, so it will be from my last day of work. The interview took about an hour. The rep was so nice, and I didn't have to send any paperwork. It was fairly easy. Now I wait. Part of me is happy that I'm done working, and the other part of me feels sadness. I told very few people I was applying, so I just said I was retiring. I was in my field for 39.5 years.

• aprilgirl1
    aprilgirl1 Member Posts: 763
    edited June 2020
    Options

KBL, thanks for posting an update. I am still working but have been wondering about the process when I decide to stop working. I understand how you have mixed feelings. Congratulations on your retirement - 39.5 years in your field is impressive! Enjoy the summer. With covid19 I have spent more time at home than I usually do and it has been nice.

• kbl
    edited June 2020
    Options

Thank you, Aprilgirl1. I will enjoy the summer mostly indoors. The heat is unbearable where I live. I came home to work in 2015, so it wasn’t a shock to the system to be home more.

• kbl
    edited June 2020
    Options