Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Anyone starting Chemo in Feb?

Options

Comments

• Cyngert
    Cyngert Member Posts: 2
    edited January 2007
    Options
    Dear Friends:

I'm new to this.....and haven't made up my mind whether to go for the chemo....my medical oncologist wants me to do it...but tells me I have a 30% chance of reoccurence if I don't get chemo, and a 20% reoccurence if I DO go through chemo....so it's only a 10% change to go through all that bad stuff. Did any of you get these kinds of statistics?

I had a lumpectomy 1/2/07 - Triple Negative, Grade 2, 1.5CM, Neg. Margins, No lymph node involvement. Today I started the first of 34 radiation treatments...a real walk in the park, but do expect some fatigue and skin problems later on....no big deal...
    Am going for second opinion to another med. onc., reading all I can on the internet, and would love to join you if I do go for the chemo.
    God bless you all, and stay strong!
  • swimmingmom
    swimmingmom Member Posts: 121
    edited January 2007
    Options
    Leah,
    Thinking of you. Positive thoughts on the liver bx. Hugs to you.
    Karen
  • marshakb
    marshakb Member Posts: 796
    edited February 2007
    Options
    Welcome Piper and Cynthia17. Sorry you have to join us, but we will get through this together! We call ourselves the February Chemo Cruisers so welcome aboard. Cythia17: 10% sounds like a lot to me, but of course it is up to you. Also with the triple neg will you get herceptin? (sp) Piper: good luck with your appointment today, hope that you have healed up!

Leah: I highly recommend the accupuncture, especially if you insurance pays a big chunk. Mine is working to build immune system (I find this very important) and also to work on mental health (block negative thinking, obsessing) I am thinking of you as you await your liver biopsy.