Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

A place to talk death and dying issues

Comments

• Parrynd1
    Parrynd1 Member Posts: 343
    edited November 2018
    Shelia, I can relate so much to what you are expressing. I’ll share my story a bit. I lived my life waiting to do the things I wanted trying to be responsible. Drugged up abusove parents growing up. Not much money. A whole TV special type sob story. Somehow I came out of that a functioning contribution to society. I don’t drink/do drugs. I work hard. Don’t call in and always pick up shifts for others. Use my blinker and even let people in in traffic. I’m. O saint but heck i think i did ok as an adult. Waiting till I got my degree to get married, waiting till marriage for kids, pay all bills on time, don’t carry credit card debt, leave a note if you bump someone’s car attempting parallel park before giving up and parking 2 more blocks away...anyways we make plans and life makes other ones. I was stage 4 when I turned 30 and 28 when i was first diagnosed. I was moths away from getting my degree with high honors and was looking at brain surgery during mid terms. Not to mention my fiancé and I have waited 10 years to get married. It’s all unfair. I don’t know if there is a way to accept this bad hand dealt to you & everyone here. I had to do our paperwork since we aren’t married (and won’t ever get legally married because of cancer) to give him power of attorney and instructions about what to do. Hardest was picking out my urn and writing letters to everyone with death instructions. It’s sad and you, I think, are mourning. Don’t expect yourself to be ok. You shouldn’t be ok with this bs, but I hope you can find some peace with it. One foot in front of the other. Sorry if I sound like I’m lecturing. I don’t know how not to, it’s a bad habit.

Hugs, sister.
  • Lita57
    Lita57 Member Posts: 2,338
    edited November 2018