Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Hot Flash Forum!

Options

Comments

• glennie19
    glennie19 Member Posts: 4,831
    edited January 2015
    Options

Chrisrenee:   Brisdelle and Paxil are exactly the same chemical,  paroxetine.  The reason why Brisdelle is so expensive, is because the drug company made it as a 7.5 mg cap,,, so there is no generic equivalent that is exactly the same thing. Paxil's smallest size is a 10 mg tablet. It is generally available. Don't let anyone push the Brisdelle on you and tell you that it is better than generic Paxil. They are both the same drug, just different mg.    No need to pay the expensive copay.  (disclaimer:  I am a pharmacist in real life) 

Drug companies make these "new" versions so that they are "branded" and there isn't a generic available for a certain number of years, the length of the "new" patent. They do this to make money. Period.   Pharmacists can't give you the generic unless it is the exact same med, and same strength. So since there is no generic 7.5mg,,, you are stuck with the brand Brisdelle.  Getting generic 10 mg tabs will work just as well, and save you money. 

• lala1
    lala1 Member Posts: 974
    edited January 2015
    Options

glennie19---I bought some GasX cause everyone said that's what I would need. Sounds like it might not work. Oh well, have it just in case. Did you take anything before surgery for either gas or constipation? Someone suggested taking Colace or Dulcolas for a couple of days before surgery. Would that help prevent the problem you had?