Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Papillary Carcinoma

Options

Comments

• Dragonflies
    Dragonflies Member Posts: 5
    Options

So visited my medical oncologist yesterday. It was a positive and supportive, confidence-building experience and I am sure of my personal feelings and pathway forward. I have done a good deal of research, but have been avoiding certain websites (and being a "google doctor") as the anecdotal discussions are generally on the scary to very scary side. It reminded me of my grandmother who knew 1001 ways to put out your eye. Winking Having facts has felt better for me and I did a good deal of fact-finding before my 2-hour (!) visit with my oncologist. (My background is in brain development/learning so this is a natural state for me...building the "coatroom" so I would have places to hang the overwhelming details I knew would be coming my way.) Basically, it's this: the onc laid out the factors in my personal background and medical history that said: Chemo and those that said: Chemo Not Necessary. In my favor were: post-menopausal; ER+/HER2-; negative nodes; very wide clear margins (9.8cm taken up/down; 9.5cm taken side to side; to a depth of 4.5cm...a lot of tissue!); healthy lifestyle factors, excellent health otherwise, personal feelings. On the Chemo side: size of tumor (2.5 cm). Onc said they used to advise Chemo if 1cm or >; however, recently they have decided that this factor is less weighty if others therapeutically overcome it.