Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.
Join us for a Special Meetup: The Benefits of Exercise for Anyone With Breast Cancer, Oct. 16, 2024 at 2pm ET. Learn more and register here.

For Arimidex (Anastrozole) users, new, past, and ongoing

Comments

• kmpod
    kmpod Member Posts: 84

Puffin, I send my deepest sympathies to you and your family. Losing a parent is such a difficult thing.

JerseyGirl 927, I've been using the Claritin to control the bone pain for three years now. For me it's an essential part of maintaing some QOL while on Arimidex. I had an occasion when I had to discontinue it for 2 weeks due to allergy testing and the bone pain was back within a few days. The pain (at least that pain) disappeared within a few days of resuming it. My Mo has no problems with me taking it and the allergist said it is the one antihistamine that can be taken on a long term basis.

It doesn't, though, address the joint pain and the stiffness. I still have significant mobility issues but at least the pain doesn't keep me awake at night. I don't know why it works or if it's effective for everyone but I would have a hard time staying on the AI without it.

• WaveWhisperer
    WaveWhisperer Member Posts: 557

Puffin, so sorry... Thinking of you and your family..

• puffin2014
    puffin2014 Member Posts: 979

Thank you all for the kinds thoughts and words. Wake and funeral will be Sunday afternoon and Monday. We'll be heading home in about an hour, then need to prepare a photo board for Lew's line of the family and finish putting together the slide show. As the genealogist in the family I've also inherited all the old photos. We've tagged the photos with the names of who's in them, so hopefully all that work will pay off in making it easier to locate the photos we want.

• Jesika63