Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Will 30% of Early Stage (1-IIIA) go on to metastasize??

Comments

• rainnyc
    rainnyc Member Posts: 801
    edited October 2015

Shetland Pony, I think this is one of the most interesting features running through all of these discussions: to what extent does inflammation play in to the recurrence of cancer? I'm so curious about the aspirin studies for this reason. Was able to get them to use Toradol during my bmx though not, I suspect, pre-incision.

• Lucy55
    Lucy55 Member Posts: 2,703
    edited October 2015

Thank you all for your work trying to sort out "what's what " in this thread. I'm not good at understanding all the stats and implications when I read the studies.. and your discussions and explanations really help.

• voraciousreader
    voraciousreader Member Posts: 3,696
    edited October 2015

sisters.....if anyone bothered to click on my Oct 6th post and registered at Medscape( if you haven't already)...it gives an excellent explanation of the Dutch study....the takeaway is that improvements in treatment and identifying tumors earlier SEEM to have better outcomes. Since the study was published, the few reporters that bothered to read the study are emphasizing that perhaps "catching" BC early through screening, IMPLIES better outcomes. That said, breaking down the data....and using it as a segue to answer Susan's original question....it SEEMS that you can identify those patients who are early stage that might have more or less chances of who will or will not be among the 30% who will recur. What is also interesting about the Dutch study is that they followed many patients over many years and have a better understanding of what kind of tumors the patients had.

• voraciousreader
    edited October 2015