Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Taxol and Herceptin only for stage 1 HER 2 positive?

Options

Comments

• granny72
    granny72 Member Posts: 8
    edited September 2014
    Options

I love my port.   Aside from the fact I cannot sleep on my stomach, it does not bother me at all. My herceptin infusions are weekly and when I hear the nurses trying to access other people's  veins, I am so grateful for the port. I put emla on the port 1 hour before the infusion and I never feel the insertion or the removal. I have been doing this for 6 months.

• Nancy6540
    Nancy6540 Member Posts: 26
    edited September 2014
    Options

DaniellaD- consider the port. Just got home from my installation and I have to tell you it wasn't bad at all! I could feel the Dr tying the knots etc but I guess I had enough happy juice flowing that I didn't feel a thing. The Dr in Clifton (recommended by basking ridge) was very reassuring as I was freaking out before the procedure. Of course I can't tell how it's going to work yet as my first infusion is Monday. Will let you know how that goes. I got the EMLA cream all ready to go!

• PatinMN
    PatinMN Member Posts: 784
    edited September 2014
    Options

Nancy, I'm so glad to hear it went well for you!

• Nancy6540
    edited September 2014
    Options

Thanks  PatinMN, hope you're having a good day!  Last night was a challenge, the port areas hurt like Hell! Took a shoulder pain pill and stuffed an icebag on it and finally fell asleep. The Tylenol they give you are not adequate. Today very very sore but I guess it will be worth it if they don't have to knit on my arm anymore!

Hope everyone is doing well today!

Nancy

• MarieNJ
    MarieNJ Member Posts: 183
    edited September 2014
    Options

Hi Ladies,

I finished a week's worth of radiation - only 2 weeks and 1 day left to go.  So far the creams are working out for me - no soreness.  A little pink, but my breast was pink to start off with.