Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Ibrance (Palbociclib)

Comments

• rk2020
    rk2020 Member Posts: 697
    edited November 2020

I’m very well aware that 100% of plans does not mean 100% coverage. It’s the fine print on the Ibrance website that frosts my butt because it’s the fine print that will put you in the poor house.

Right now I have excellent coverage through my husband’s employer (he retired at 54 but can continue to carry me). I pay a $20 co-pay for Ibrance. For that I’m grateful. Once I go on Medicare, I will continue to pay for his insurance as my supplement. Am I correct in thinking that there is no way to pay for a prescription drug supplement (similar to medical coverage)? I’m just learning this stuff so your knowledge and experience is much appreciated.

Our income is high enough that I doubt I’d qualify for financial assistance. I’m just trying to pay for comprehensive insurance that will not leave me with a shocking drug co-pay each month.

I’m grateful to not be on IV chemo but if I was on chemo, it would be covered by major medical and be so much easier.

• BevJen
    BevJen Member Posts: 2,341
    edited November 2020

RK2020,

I don't know the answer to your question about the prescription drug supplement. If you get your drugs now through your husband's medical plan, I assume that would continue and you would get a notice from them of "creditable coverage" so you wouldn't need a prescription plan. So you might be okay. You can also do an inquiry with them to ask what the story is -- better to know now.

My hubby also retired at 54, but I just retired at 68. However, I was covered under his medical insurance for most of our married lives. His plan, however, kicked us out when we each turned 65. They had a "retiree medical plan" but it wasn't going to really help us with prescriptions, so we went the traditional route.