Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Ibrance (Palbociclib)

Comments

• jendunn1977
    jendunn1977 Member Posts: 4
    edited November 2020

Hello! New to this thread, recently diagnosed with stage 4 IDC, mets to bone (spine, hip, rib). I am starting on Ibrance, Faslodex/Lupron, and Zoledronic acid on 12/3. I am a teacher and hope to keep teaching remotely...seems like the side effects are not super terrible? Thanks!

• aprilgirl1
    aprilgirl1 Member Posts: 794
    edited November 2020

Hi JenDunn, I have been in Ibrance/Fulvestrant for 1 year and have found it easy to tolerate. I also work full time and have been able to work without feeling fatigued. I did have low white blood counts at the end of a few cycles so my dose was reduced from 125 mg to 100mg which has kept my WBC a bit higher at the end of a cycle. There are women on here doing great on 75mg as well. This is a common side effect and many women on Ibrance have dose reductions. The fulvestrant shots haven't been an issue for me. I have less joint pain on fulvestrant compared to femara which I took for 7 years. Let us know if you have questions about the fulvestrant shot. I have not had Zoledronic acid so can't give you any info on that one.

• cure-ious
    cure-ious Member Posts: 2,854
    edited November 2020

JenDunn, For me I had a lot of fatigue in the first couple of months, which eased up a lot as my body got used to it. After 4 years I did have to go down to 100mg from the 125mg, due to low white blood cell counts I was getting every cycle, but I worked the whole time and my worst problem was thinning hair. Fatigue is noticably less on the lower dose, but I also did the 5 days on, 2 days off schedule for about six months and the fatigue was much less just with that change (ie, leaving the dose high)

• snow-drop
    snow-drop Member Posts: 544
    edited November 2020