Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Who is starting chemo in September 2016?

Options

Comments

• hahlyn
    hahlyn Member Posts: 128
    Options

Hello

I too plan to work during Chemo I work a regular 8.hours but am on call for my territory after that. So I could work my full 8 then get called out to respond to an incident and work another 8. It's rough at times, but I have to work. My family needs 2 incomes. We have 2 kids 15 and 13 mortgage etc..I am ER - PR- Her2+. Scared out of my mind.

• Jaigern
    Jaigern Member Posts: 8
    Options

Thanks for the tip LisbethS! I am new to this and not technology inclined. I will figure out the settings. I am 42 year old mom of a 10 year old, a 12 year old and 2 two border collies. I meet my medical oncologist and my OB oncologist on Friday. I know they want to take my ovaries for sure but I will get the details on Friday. I have rightIDC 2.5 cm stage IIb with necrosis, grade III, LVI, 1/7 lymph nodes. I had pre-cancer on the left. I had a double mastectomy on 8/10. I meet with a GI oncologist in November for pancreatic screening since BRCA I impacts pancreatic cancer.

Hi Nayda985! Thanks for the info. My job is very stressful and mentally exhausting. I have had several stress induced illnesses (including shingles) over the past year, if that explains the level of stress I have been under. I just don't know if I can keep up the same level of stress or not on chemo. I am thinking I may either not work or find another job

Happy to have you all to talk to and bounce ideas off of. I have a fantastic support system but it's good to talk to people that are experiencing it. Thank you so much!

• seq24
    seq24 Member Posts: 451
    Options