Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Starting Chemo in December 2016

Options

Comments

• Jezikah
    Jezikah Member Posts: 68
    edited December 2016
    Options

Hi Ladies-

I had my first treatment today. My nurse was amazing. She's actually the daughter of one of my mom's good friends and my eye doctor (small world in our little city!) I'd never met her before, she's about 4 yrs younger than me, but I knew of her. One of the other nurses I talked to briefly is the mom of a girl I graduated high school with.

Everything was very nice - the cancer center is about 5 years old and only 5 minutes from my house. They treatment area has nice big windows with a good view. And it was sunny today, so that was pleasant.

My port worked fine. I got the pre-meds and herceptin with no issues. Then they started the Taxotere and Ihad a reaction 4 minutes in. It was really scary! First my chest tightened, then shortness of breath, then I got really hot and flushed - my neck and ears felt like they were on fire. My mom was sitting with me at the time and immediately called the nurse over.

They stopped the infusion and I was surrounded by 4 nurses in a matter of seconds. They gave me benydryl, Pepcid, steroids, took vitals and I was feeling better very quickly. They monitored me for 30 minutes and then started the taxotere again at a slower rate. So going forward, I'll need all those drugs before infusion and then do the slower rate over 90 minutes.

Now I'm home resting and going to have some chicken rice soup my mom brought over.

• Carolg516
    Carolg516 Member Posts: 9
    edited December 2016
    Options

I had my first chemo on Thursday dec 1st. StArted feeling warm and lethargic Monday afternoon. Then had some stomach pain. But now, Wednesday nite feeling much better. Hoping this means just 2 off days

• Hanging_in_there