Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Starting chemo February 2018

Options

Comments

• ColleenS80
    ColleenS80 Member Posts: 82
    Options

Hey guys please say a little prayer/send a positive thought to me today. Today and tomorrow are my last two days at work before my leave of absence. I thought I’d be ok but I’ve already cried twice when people have come in to check on me. I’m so scared I’ll lose it in front of my students. I don’t want to scare them. My first class is at 9:45 and I’m really trying to pull myself together!!

• Lolotte19
    Lolotte19 Member Posts: 122
    Options

Hello all,

I am 41 and have been diagnosed with a 5+ cm tumor grade 3 cancer with 1 enlarged lymph node. The oncologist suggested starting chemo first before surgery.

ColeenS80, I am sure it will be fine with your students. I was a French teacher too and when I moved to Malaysia, letting them now that I won't teach them anymore was really hard but their response was wonderful. Students are great and they will support you!

For all the ladies who cut their hair and dye them, you look wonderful! I have the idea of buying colorful wigs and wigs with hair color and length I never wore. I am currently a brunette with short hair (not ultra short though).

I don't know if I will be a Feb or Mar chemo patient but you all rock ladies! I wanted to give my support to all of you and I will be thinking of you. BTW, my sister, who is an anesthetist who followed a medical nutrition training, told me I should fast 2 days before and 3 days after each infusion to decrease side effects (mostly gastrointestinal issues and fatigue). I will try but gosh fasting 5 days will be hard. She told me she will do the same to support me!