Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Need your tips for taking a CDK 4/6 inhibitor

Options
2»

Comments

• filabrasileiro
    filabrasileiro Member Posts: 7
    edited March 2020
    Options

I have been on Letrozole and Ibrance combo for 18 months. I take it every evening. 2 days ago I was researching Disulfiram as I had been interested in adding it and I was suprised to read a report that this inexpensive drug enhances the effectiveness of both Ibrance and Verzenio!! I plan to add this to my regime ASAP. I was diagnosed stage IV but my original tumor died, auxiliary lymph nodes now appear normal and 2 largest of my bone mets are dead and now bone is filling in again. I had a tiny active lesion in 1 rib. I am interested to see if Disulfiram will help enhance Ibrance to kill it (or work on its own merits)

• vlnrph
    vlnrph Member Posts: 487
    edited March 2020
    Options

As a retired pharmacist, I am always interested in the repurposing of older medications. Antabuse being the brand name for disulfiram tells you what it’s original use was: providing an antidote to alcohol abuse.

It creates an extremely unpleasant reaction in anyone taking it whenthey consume any amount of an ‘adult beverage’. There are warnings about ingesting cough syrup and even using hand sanitizers! So, you need to be very careful and read labels on every product. There are also a number of drug interactions of which to be aware.

Doing a quick google search, the references I located regarding the anti-tumor activity of this chemical date from 2013. If the compound was as beneficial as you seem to think, it would probably have been added to our regimens by now. Can you provide a link to the information you found?

• kanga_roo
    kanga_roo Member Posts: 302
    edited March 2020
    Options

I have been on the Kisqali/letrozole combo for over 2 years.

Before:

Read possible interaction with drugs or supplements you may be taking.