Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Rejecting hormone therapy

Options

Comments

• VioletKali
    VioletKali Member Posts: 97
    Options

My personal choices, preferences, and decisions based on QOL are very much a *me* thought process. I don't base my decisions on QOL on others, or how they choose to live and treat breast cancer. I would not choose to live a certain way, but that is ME. I have no pity for anyone, I just don't want that for *me*.

YOU do YOU is my motto.

Example: chemo put me into menopause immediately with the first round, and by four rounds in I had two blood transfusions and decided that it wasn't worth it. I IMMEDIATELY began an AI and OS.

I am a NURSE, and was unable to type and even insert an intravenous line. I developed trigger finger and was unable to make a fist. This would be just fine if I could sit on my butt all day and do nothing for the rest of my life, but I couldn't. I didn't care how long the rest of my life would be, I just wasn't going to live it like that.

I've been treated for bipolar depression since I was 16, and have been stable ever since. I've tried to go off medications, and it just did not work, I was unable to function. Tamoxifen is not an option because I take a medication that is very good for me and it interacts with tamoxifen.

I took Fareston, toremifene, without any difficulty, but when my oncologist left the practice and moved no other oncologist would prescribe it for me so I decided that I no longer needed the services of an oncologist and I have been doing fine for the past 5 years.

My Internist orders my yearly MRI for my breasts, I also have tumor markers drawn for good measure.

Every year I have a full Body MRI scan in Florida, because they have a cheap service, because I need to know early if I have brain Mets because I make life and death type decisions as a Nurse.