Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.

FEMARA

Comments

• weety
    weety Member Posts: 378

Steph, Yep, that's me!  I'm a kindergartener teacher and there are times during the day that I practically fall asleep while teaching.  When I'm doing a calm, sit-down activiity such as small group reading or individual assessing, sometimes I find myself nodding off.  Even the kids have noticed it--they say "Mrs. xxx, are you sleepy?"  Geez.  And it's not age--I'm only 41.

I've noticed it goes in cycles throughout the day.  If I can get through the drowsy cycle (I'm guessing it lasts about 30 min) then all of a sudden it's like the curtains open, the sun comes in and wah-lah, I'm fine again.  It's very strange. And it really does seem to go away like that in a instant.  Suddenly my mind is just clear and alert again.

• ginger48
    ginger48 Member Posts: 1,437

Weety- that is me too! I am a preschool teacher and nodding off is NOT a good thing! I think the lack of estrogen causes us to feel much older than our age. I am trying to do some kind of exercise for 30 minutes every day. Even if it is slow walkIng; I think it helps my creakiness and my sleep.

• artsee
    artsee Member Posts: 701

Ginger...YOGA! Does wonders.

• TonLee
    TonLee Member Posts: 1,589

That's wonderful!!  The no SE part. 

My left elbow ached the entire time on Tamox.....now they both ache!  ~sigh

I've noticed a body composition change.  Don't know if it is from the Ooph a couple months ago or what...I weigh the same, but my belly is storing more fat/fluid.  You know I count my calories and such, especially now...I've researched and found in menopause women tend to need 200-400 calories LESS a day.  Most women don't know this and continue to consume the same amount of calories that kept them trim...attributing it to "middle age spread."