Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

MIDDLE-AGED WOMEN 40-60ish

Comments

• mesharon1959
    mesharon1959 Member Posts: 8

I will. Meeting with plastics Friday, and we'll see if I like him. If not, I have two appointments next week. But at the rate this is all going I'm sure I'll be going in just before Christmas.....sigh.....oh well. Better than waiting into the new year. The sooner the better!!

• terisc6
    terisc6 Member Posts: 1

Hi, I'm new to all of this so I'm hoping I'm typing where I should be.mSmile I'm 51 years old and was diagnosed on October 1, 2015 with breast cancer in my right breast and its triple negative. I opted to have a double masectomy with tissue expanders put in. They took 4 lymph nodes out and there was microscopic cancer in them. Instead of going back to surgery and taking more lymph nodes we decided to opt for radiation after chemo so my chances for lymphadema would be lower. I had my double masectomy on November 11, 2015 so I am almost 2 weeks out. In 4 days I will get my drains out and I will be able to drive again and go back to work on November 30, 2015. I don't have any problem with the masectomy but I just don't feel "normal". My chest is tight, I don't have a lot of energy and I just want to feel 'normal" again. This morning was the first time I broke down. I didn't break down when I was diagnosed. I just thought, you know thousands of women have gone through this and I am no more special than anyone else so lets do it. This morning I was feeling down and had a good cry while my dog Pepper gave me kisses while I told him how much I loved him. I'm hoping going back to work and having a normal schedule will help me. I have an appointment with my oncologist on December 10, 2015 to get started with chemo. I really feel I need to work through chemo just so I feel life is still moving along plus the fact I am single and just like everyone else I have bills