Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Support us when you check out at Walgreens! Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

Latissimus Dorsi Breast Reconstruction

Comments

• bevg49
    bevg49 Member Posts: 461

I have a question for you ladies if you don't mind. I am relatively new to all this. I am having my surgery next Thursday, right side only. Anyway, I went to PS who seems to be wonderful and beloved. I saw his book of pictures and they are lovely. He talked to me about DIEP for about a minute then said I was not a candidate. I can see why actually. I am 62 years old, 50 lbs. overweight, diabetic, not terrible but not 100% controlled. I have COPD from a long addiction to nicotine (quit last year).... So he said because of healing issues and not wanting me in a very long surgery we'd go for the TE then implant route. We spoke on the phone since. I am kind of freaked out about  the implant so he mentioned the LAT procedure. I understand I would still need an implant. So my question is, what are the benefits over JUST an implant? Do they look/feel better? Is the difference that much? I would like to minimize my surgery, healing time, pain as much as possible. I would also not want to be miserable with a cold bag of silicone in my chest and nothing else. (I don't know why the idea of an implant with no other tissue freaks me out so).  Hence, I don't know which way to go. I have my final appt. with PS tomorrow afternoon so would appreciate any input. Thanks.

• jen78
    jen78 Member Posts: 74