Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.

Latissimus Dorsi Breast Reconstruction

Comments

• DLL66
    DLL66 Member Posts: 448

I went back to work after 2 weeks with drains still in. I was an assistant store manager at the time, so on my feet the whole day. The Danskin hoodies with pockets on the inside came in handy.

• dayzoo
    dayzoo Member Posts: 15

KSteve...

I had my surgery on a Wednesday, came home Thursday, and was back to work a bit on Saturday, but full time Monday, with the drains (yuck!) Drains came out after a week... 

I have my own business, so there isn't a whole lot of sick time available - I took next to nothing off both times I went through chemo too.

It's just a little difficult to do basic things - stapling, pulling open the file cabinet, etc, are all harder to do without that dorsi muscle in your back...lol...

Good luck!

• hmmelissa
    hmmelissa Member Posts: 3

I have decided (I think) to undergo BMX with lat flaps, to be followed by implants.  I work from home as well, and was wondering when I would feel good enough to sit up and work from my laptop - any ideas?   Also - I am a stomach/side sleeper and do not sleep well on my back.  Any suggestions for comfortable sleep would be recommended.   I am pouring through all of these posts, though a bit overwhelmed, and my surgery is coming up quickly (Feb-3!), so any directions to posts specific to packing lists/recovery tips, etc, would also be greatly appreciated.   Thank you so much!!

• HotPinkMess
    HotPinkMess Member Posts: 18