Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

A place to talk death and dying issues

Comments

• bestbird
    bestbird Member Posts: 232
    edited April 2016

Many, many years ago I studied the Russian language and became fascinated by this seemingly simple poem.

"The Sail" by Lermontov

A far sail shimmers, white and lonely,
    Through the blue haze above the foam.
    What does it seek in foreign lands?
    What does it leave behind at home?

The billows swell, the chill wind whistles.
    The rigging swings, the tall mast creaks.
    Alas, it is not joy it flees from,
    Nor is it happiness it seeks.

Below, the seas like blue light flowing,
    Above, the sun's gold streams increase.
    And yet it's the storm the rebel asks for,
    Because there in the tempest, it will find peace.

• oriole
    oriole Member Posts: 18
    edited April 2016

Oh my goodness, Bestbird. I memorized that poem while studying Russian in college. I remember writing a paper in Russian about how we find our true strength when storms invade our lives. Oh what a joy to reread that poem tonight.

I am sitting tonight with a favorite book of short stories by Barry Lopez. The short story "Gone Back into the Earth" is about a trip to the inner gorge of the Grand Canyon and he ends the story with the following...

"I do not know, really, how we will survive without places like the Inner Gorge of the Grand Canyon to visit. Once in a lifetime, even, is enough. To feel the stripping down, an ebb of the press of conventional time, a radical change of proportion, an unspoken respect for others that elicits keen emotional pleasure, a quick, intimate pounding of the heart. ...