Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

A place to talk death and dying issues

Comments

• M360
    M360 Member Posts: 164
    edited June 2015

Calico, No extra traveling just the three hour trek into San Francisco weekly. But I've been doing this since 2009, so it;s the same strain and exhaustion as before, but now with more positive results. I found that many trials can be done with your current Oncologist if they are willing to do the paper work involved. There is much more testing of nerves, CT Scans, extra blood testing and they watch and record everything happening to you. So that they have the positive and negatives of people involved in such trials. I must say that they take more time and much more interest in your daily life, how your handling being Stage IV, hearing and heart checks, etc. So I know that right now I'm getting the best of care that I've ever had. A doctor even calls me once a week to check in with me on how things are going to just talk and ask if all is well or if I have any questions or concerns. Trials for Stage IV Breast Cancer Patients can really be a positive, I'm sure that not all the new meds out there that they are trying to put on the market for us will not all have positive results for everyone, and I've heard many don't make it to Stage III. However, because it is working for me they will keep me on this for as long as it keeps positive results and no new tumors. So even if the trial finishes I can stay on these meds. Last count I believe I had more than 27 tumors/lesions in both organs and bones of the spine, ribs, hip, femur (I have six in the left femur alone), clavical, sternum, liver, 6 in my lungs as well as over 10 lymph glands that are now with cancer, in kidneys, and a small amount in my jaw, also in my stomach and from liver into the aorta. So to have them stable and not growing and my tumor markers lower than they have ever been which is now