Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

I look for other flat chested women. A rant.

Options

Comments

• MT1
    MT1 Member Posts: 223
    Options

Wow, AnneMarie. I am a textile artist and I just bought some cloth to design/print a scarves. You have me thinking. I like the idea of scarves as a bit of privacy. I just don't want to wear breast forms. My body is enough. Scarves have appeal on so many levels.

I am married, so no help there. I often think about what it would be like to be single throughout all this, or because of it.

What I want to know is, have any of you felt the need to say anything when people look at you? This is my struggle right now. I live in NYC, there are millions of people here. When I walk down the street people are constantly looking at me. Some rudley, some with simple curiosity. The problem for me is that there are so many of them. The cumulative effect for me is draining, frustrating, tiring.

I keep thinking up t-shirt slogans. Sometimes I just want to yell, 'BREAST CANCER, ok? Stop looking at me!', but then I would really be a New York freak. 

I keep telling myself that my filters will fortify.  

• MT1
    Options

This is an hour long talk but, Do NOT Pass Go. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoO-vG5RoB8

Aimee Mullins talks with Harold Kodas about Art and beauty. She is the athlete who made cheetah legs so well known. 

• Linda-n3
    Linda-n3 Member Posts: 1,713
    Options

AnnMarie, thanks for sharing  your photos - you look marvelous!  (and NOT flat - what an amazing thing our brains are to fill in what "should" be there!)