Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

2013 Sister Warriors

Comments

• Cece1992
    Cece1992 Member Posts: 12
    edited March 2013

Hi, ReneeinOH and all the other Sister Warriors!  (Thanks, Renee, for the invitation.)

My diagnosis day was last Wednesday (3/6/13) and things have been moving so fast!  I'm relieved that the wonderful breast center where I'm being treated has been so fast because I keep thinking "Ew!  Get it OFF me!" as if I've seen a big, hairy spider crawling up my shirt or something.

My surgery (lumpectomy) was set for Wednesday, 3/20, but they called this morning to move it to Tuesday, 3/19.  Fine with me.

In some ways, it feels like I've had a big dome placed around me.  The rest of the world goes about its business and I'm glad for them, but my brain keeps screaming CANCER!! and it refuses to shut up.  I'm a college professor and this was supposed to be my sabbatical because I wanted to finish a book I've been working on for way too long, but, suddenly, I don't care about the book; I haven't written or revised a single word since last week.  I wonder if this is always going to be "the book I was writing when I learned I had breast cancer."  Ugh, I hope not!

So glad all you wonderful people are here, and I'm wishing for good luck for all of us.

• Cece1992
    edited March 2013

ReneeinOH, awesome news about the no-surgery, no-radiation!  I hope you find a good way to celebrate!  Laughing

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Member Posts: 942
    edited March 2013

Cece~I know exactly what you're going through. Believe me....It does get better. Especially when you get your path report, and know your complete plan of treatment, you'll feel more in control, and that alone makes it easier.

I'm amazed at the number of teachers, & professors on this forum. It seems to be the #1 career of BC patients.