Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

Life does not end with a stage IV diagnosis (really!)

Comments

• nbnotes
    nbnotes Member Posts: 338
    edited January 2020

exbrnxgrl - Owww, I did the same thing back in October but it was only the nail area of the finger that got slammed. It turned black and just in the last 2 weeks the new growth managed to force the old lifting nail off. (Ironically mine was also the middle finger) I probably hadn't done that since I was a kid, and it was soooo painful. I feel for you especially coming after already being bruised from the accident. Hope it all heals quickly!

• imagine
    imagine Member Posts: 96
    edited January 2020

Hello all on this tread,

Does life really not end with Stage IV DX???Happy

I am fairly new to this Stage 4, Mets club. I am having a very hard time with all of this. There is so much conflicting reports on stats, treatments, etc. I started the Ibrance 125 finished 1st cycle without having to go lower Mg so far. Also Falsodex which other than the full minute of each injection and soreness that follows I am tolerated that one well. I feel ok but still hurting some from the VATS surgery to get biopsy for testing.

I know I have plurera mets and some nodes in my chest that lit up in chest area. Only found out because my very stable CA-15-3 for over 12 years started going up. I still have no symptoms from Mets and I want to try to keep it that way for as long as possible.

I want to believe I will be around for years, but sadly I read the stats and that dream falls away. My MO says women live for years on a treatment and then there is something else to use when tx start to fail. She also says that the CD4 inhibitors have revolutionized Metastatic BC treatments.

I need to get on with my life but I feel I cannot plan much past a few months out, is this how you all felt in the early days of DX? ?