Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Picture This!!

Options

Comments

• socallisa
    socallisa Member Posts: 10,184
    Options

OK Barbe, I shot in RAW and didn't crop..then I had to convert? to jpeg?

If I didn't it said the file was too big..

• socallisa
    Options

I am a complete newbie about RAW.

• gmafoley
    gmafoley Member Posts: 5,978
    Options

Great little trick Barbe! - you have a great teacher to show you about shooting the nose-hairs.. I'm going to have to try that. My daughter is the photographer in our family. Being I take alot of sunset/sunrise pictures she told me about having 1/4 ground to 3/4 sky to get the colors of the sunsets. BTW I am amateur with a point and shoot camera.. I used to have to take close-ups of artifacts when I was an archaeologist, but in the field a big camera was too cumbersome to pack in with all the gear. 

• barbe1958
    barbe1958 Member Posts: 7,605
    Options

Lisa, you were the only one thought might take me literally, but I didn't mean RAW in the camera setting sense. I just meant no cropping, tweaking or otherwise adjusting!

There's an expression in sales: Sell the sizzle, not the steak!

It means we don't have to hear about how the cow was slaughtered, but like to hear that it was prepared over mesquite chips on an open flame after marinating overnight in a deep burgundy red wine spiced with cardamom and rosemary and gently rested before being brought to your table with garlic mashed potatoes.... get it?

So I just needed to learn to put that into photography and my sister succinctly described it for me!

• socallisa
    Options

OH, I thought you meant RAW not jpeg..

• socallisa
    Options

but sometimes we actually need to know what something looks like in toto

• barbe1958
    Options