Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

DIEP Flap Reconstruction 2017

Comments

• BigSister-2015
    BigSister-2015 Member Posts: 298
    edited June 2017

So sorry about all your troubles, Wordlady! I am so sorry for your loss. I am glad you have found comfort here, and hope that you can move forward again at some point

• MichCali
    MichCali Member Posts: 44
    edited June 2017

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this thread. I love all the information and appreciate everyone's posts.

I am scheduled for my diep flap surgery on July 11.

Jbdayton--thank you for the list of items needed--greatly appreciated.

Sally32--I am using Dr. Chaiyasate out of Beumont for my surgery. I really like him and his staff. Please feel free to private message me with

any questions.

Some questions I have for those of you who had surgery already:

Did you need help after the surgery at home? My husband is amazing but he will have to go to work.

Did you have to wear button down shirts? I had a single mastectomy and couldn't lift my arm over my head for a few weeks so button down flannels were great.

Thanks everyone--I appreciate all of these posts!!

• MAPBB
    MAPBB Member Posts: 20
    edited June 2017

Hello,

Rlsteadman I had prophylactic for both breasts in February. I'm 60, have the BRAC2 gene and have watched two sisters die. I struggled with the decision for years and did a TON of research. Finally, when my 21 year old daughter tested positive for the gene, I decided to have the surgery. I see it as having chosen life over fear of surgery.

• songbird72
    songbird72 Member Posts: 22
    edited June 2017

MichCali--I bought a few button up shirts that I used for the first week or so after I got out of the hospital.